Despite the Clubhouse being battered by 22+ knots, the AGM was held comfortably on Saturday 5 August with 13 members in attendance and apologies from three.    The new committee has some new faces and ‘experienced’ ones and for a full list of committee members, see below.

Many, many thanks go to retiring Commodore Michael Clark who becomes the Immediate Past Commodore (IPC), and to Neil Ross who has been IPC since 2014 and was Commodore three years prior to that.  

Fees mostly remained the same although concession fees have gone to a proportion of the full fee which has meant a slight rise in some.

From this year membership application will be online which will be live by the end of August with full payment due the end of September (or arrangements made with the Secretary).  For current members you will receive an email when it comes online.  For interested/new members, we’d love to hear from you!

Welcome aboard to another year of sailing!  

Jenny O’Neill

Commodore for the LWYC Committee


2017 Annual General Meeting of Lake Wellington Yacht Club  was held on Saturday 5 August, 2017 at 11am at Lake Wellington Yacht Club, Marlay Point.

New club officials are listed in ‘about LWYC’

The sailing season is yet to start at Lake Wellington Yacht Club but last Saturday with a 22 knot wind battering the Clubhouse the AGM was held with new Commodore elected after Michael Clark retired after a very active and productive three years. Jenny O’Neill will take on the role with strong support, experience, and knowledge from members including Col Svenson, the 2017 Club Champion with Satisfaction, Peter Lawrence the Personal Handicap Champion with Maid of Kent, Peter Corser, the Sheryl Tropy with Breezin, Robyn Clark the Warner Trophy with Earthsuit and Jenny O’Neill the Trident Trophy with Josephine.   Unfortunately on the 20th anniversary of the Rainey Trophy, the trophy couldn’t be awarded due to insufficient races from the difficult early season weather.   

The new program full of racing and social sailing opportunities will be available by mid September on with the Opening Day on Sunday 8 October, open to all.  Watch facebook, Lake Wellington YC

Club Championship                                Satisfaction       Col Svenson

Personal Handicap Championship        Maid of Kent      Peter Lawrence

Sheryl Trophy                                        Breezin              Peter Corser

Warner Trophy                                      EarthSuit           Robyn Clark

K.R. Rainey Trophy                                Not awarded due to insufficient races

Trident Trophy                                      Josaphine          Jenny O’Neil

award winners 16-17
flag holders 17-18

MPONR Trophy Winners       

MPONR 2017 Final Results 

Enjoy Race Photos and Race Video here,

by Jules Vid Pic Promotions

Race Feedback

Thank you to all the Participants of the South East Regatta held at Lake Wellington Yacht Club 2017.

Regatta final results are here.

Resized photos for the web are here.

We are extremely lucky to have so many wonderful active committed people in our Club.  And the latest examples are:

Col and John S’s work on inserting the new Suite 209 windows. Thanks for Wellington Shire Council for the $2000 grant towards the windows. 

Roger and Col’s work on exiting the possum from the garage and closing its access point.